All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook Cover Image
$16.99
Currently not in store. Available to order. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Perry T. Cook has lived in prison his whole life. His mother in one of the inmates. The warden is currently acting as his foster-mother, allowing him to grow up near his mother and attend school in the nearby town. Most of the people who know about this arrangement quietly look the other way, until a new district attorney moves to town and he decides he must save Perry. Who gets to decide what is best for Perry? His mom? The warden? The DA? Himself? Perry T. Cook is absolutely charming and the cast of characters he lives with — some less ‘innocent’ than others — are a reminder that family bonds are forged by love.

~ Eight Cousins

— From Holiday Picks 2016

Description


Junior Library Guild Selection * Kids' Indie Next List Pick

From Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and Crunch, comes a soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me.

Eleven-year-old Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truth--and Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home.

When Perry moves to the "outside" world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from . . . but can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means?

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062333469
ISBN-10: 0062333461
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: March 1st, 2016
Pages: 400
Language: English