Ada Twist, Scientist (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Ada Twist, Scientist Cover Image
By Andrea Beaty, David Roberts (Illustrator)
$17.95
Currently not in store. Available to order. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Fans of Iggy Peck, Architect and Rosie Revere, Engineer will be delighted at this third installment, Ada Twist, Scientist from author Andrea Beaty and illustrator David Roberts. Super-fans might even recognize Ada as she, Rosie, and Iggy are all classmates and each appears in the other’s book. Ada is curious. She’s an observer. And she wants to know “why?” She also wants to know “what, how, and when?” Her family encourages her investigations until one experiment goes too far. Nevertheless, Ada’s a thinker and cannot be stopped, and her family realizes that they must help, “because that’s what you do // when your kid has a passion and heart that is true.” Read this book aloud to best appreciate the poetry, and look closely at class pictures to see if you can predict who might be featured in Beaty and Roberts’s next book . . .

~ Eight Cousins

— From Holiday Picks 2016

Description


A #1 New York Times Bestseller
A Wall Street Journal Bestseller
A USA Today Bestseller

The creators of the New York Times bestselling picture books Rosie Revere, Engineer and Iggy Peck, Architect are back with a story about the power of curiosity in the hands of a child who is on a mission to use science to understand her world. Ada Twist, Scientist, from powerhouse team Andrea Beaty and David Roberts, is a celebration of STEM, perseverance, and passion.


Like her classmates, builder Iggy and inventor Rosie, scientist Ada, a character of color, has a boundless imagination and has always been hopelessly curious. Why are there pointy things stuck to a rose? Why are there hairs growing inside your nose? When her house fills with a horrific, toe-curling smell, Ada knows it's up to her to find the source. What would you do with a problem like this? Not afraid of failure, Ada embarks on a fact-finding mission and conducts scientific experiments, all in the name of discovery. But, this time, her experiments lead to even more stink and get her into trouble

Inspired by real-life makers such as Ada Lovelace and Marie Curie, Ada Twist, Scientist champions girl power and women scientists, and brings welcome diversity to picture books about girls in science. Touching on themes of never giving up and problem solving, Ada comes to learn that her questions might not always lead to answers, but rather to more questions. She may never find the source of the stink, but with a supportive family and the space to figure it out, she'll be able to feed her curiosity in the ways a young scientist should.

Iggy Peck and Rosie Revere have earned their places among the most beloved children's characters, and they have inspired countless kids and adults to follow their dreams and passions. Now in her own charming and witty picture book, determined Ada Twist, with her boundless curiosity for science and love of the question "Why?," is destined to join these two favorites. The book is the perfect tool to remind both young girls and women that they have the intelligence and perseverance to achieve their dreams.

About the Author


Andrea Beaty and David Roberts are the creators of Iggy Peck, Architect; Rosie Revere, Engineer; and Happy Birthday, Madame Chapeau, among other award-winning children's books. Out-of-this-world Rosie Revere, Engineer is currently orbiting Earth aboard the International Space Station as part of the Story Time From Space program, storytimefromspace.com. Beaty lives just outside of Chicago. Visit her online at andreabeaty.com and on Twitter: @AndreaBeaty. Roberts lives in London. Visit him online at davidrobertsillustration.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781419721373
ISBN-10: 1419721372
Publisher: Abrams Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 6th, 2016
Pages: 32
Language: English