All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook Cover Image
$16.99
Currently not in store. Available to order. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Perry T. Cook has lived in prison his whole life. His mother in one of the inmates. The warden is currently acting as his foster-mother, allowing him to grow up near his mother and attend school in the nearby town. Most of the people who know about this arrangement quietly look the other way, until a new district attorney moves to town and he decides he must save Perry. Who gets to decide what is best for Perry? His mom? The warden? The DA? Himself? Perry T. Cook is absolutely charming and the cast of characters he lives with — some less ‘innocent’ than others — are a reminder that family bonds are forged by love.

~ Eight Cousins

— From Holiday Picks 2016

Description


Junior Library Guild Selection * Kids’ Indie Next List Pick

From Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and Crunch, comes a soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me.

Eleven-year-old Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truth—and Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home.

When Perry moves to the “outside” world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from . . . but can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means?

Praise For…


★ “With complex, memorable characters, a situation that demands sympathy, and a story that’s shown, not just told, this is fresh and affecting. Well-crafted, warm, and wonderful.”

★ “Rich characterizations give the novel its big heart: Jessica, Big Ed, and the other Blue River inmates are nuanced, vivid characters whose stories of perseverance after tragedy embody the novel’s themes of redemption, hope, and community. This beautifully written work will send readers’ spirits soaring.”

“This book offers a different kind of diversity story that is important for kids to find on the shelf.”

“Readers will long remember the folks of Blue River after its gates have closed.”

“In a novel filled with endearing characters, sad goodbyes, and new beginnings, Connor (Crunch) expresses the depth of Perry’s homesickness without romanticizing his life in a prison.”

“Every so often, a novel comes along to remind us of that what we hope is true, is true: that understanding is stronger than what seems to be justice, that kindness is deeper and fuller than anger, and that goodness can heal brokenness. This is one of those novels.”

“Perry Cook is a character who steps off the page, wanders through your mind, and finds his way to your heart.”

“All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a book filled with tough truths, relentless optimism, fierce love and above all else gorgeous writing. I loved every heartbreaking, joyful page.”

“A heartwarming story with an unstoppable hero, a mystery that keeps you guessing, and a unique setting. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a rich look at family and what it means to face adversity and fly—I loved it.”

“Leslie Connor has given young readers a gentle introduction into the world of incarcerated parents in an engaging and ultimately wonderfully rewarding story.”

“I don’t think there’s been a book so moving and heartwarming for this age range since WONDER.”

Starred Reviews for Waiting for Normal: “A heroine with spunk and spirit offers an inspiring lesson in perseverance and hope. First-rate.”

“A story centered around loss, heartbreak, abandonment, and new beginnings.”

“Characters as persuasively optimistic as Addie are rare, and readers will gravitate to her. Poignant.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062333469
ISBN-10: 0062333461
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: March 1st, 2016
Pages: 400
Language: English