Georgia Rules (Hardcover)

Georgia Rules Cover Image
$16.99
Currently not in store. Available to order. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Book of the Year

Perfect for fans of One for the Murphys and The Penderwicks, this poignant and moving middle grade novel tells the story of a girl who moves to a new town and meets an unforgettable family—one that will change her and her mother’s lives forever.

Magnolia Grace never wanted to leave Georgia. She never wanted to move with her mama to the farm her daddy owned before he died. But now here she is, in a tiny Vermont town where everybody sings the praises of the father Maggie never knew.

Then Maggie meets the Parker family—two moms, six kids, plus a pony. The Parkers are loud and wild, ask lots of questions, and don't follow any of the rules Maggie grew up with in Georgia. Suddenly Maggie has questions too—questions about her father, and why Mama kept him away for so long.

In her search for answers, Maggie will learn that families are like patchwork quilts, sewn together by love, and all the more beautiful for their different colors.

Praise For…


“This book soars as it details the fractious and frustrating relationship between Maggie and her mother, and the way it makes Vermont, and its beauty throughout the seasons, a character of its own...there is also determination and revelation, giving this more heft than usual for a middle-grade novel.”

“[A] singular, intricately woven story of people’s complicated, rule-surpassing existences. This book gives young readers a useful perspective on the negotiation of power in their own lives, and it sheds a soft light on the imperfections of adults, creating space for honest and open dialogue.”

“A tender coming-of-age story about forgiveness and growing up.”

A Bank Street College of Education Best Children’s Book of the Year
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062374578
ISBN-10: 0062374575
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2017
Pages: 272
Language: English