Brecht Collected Plays: One (World Classics) (Paperback)

Brecht Collected Plays: One (World Classics) By Bertolt Brecht, John Willett (Editor), Ralph Manheim (Editor) Cover Image

Brecht Collected Plays: One (World Classics) (Paperback)


Currently not in store. Available to order. Usually Ships in 3-7 Days

Published by Methuen Drama, the collected dramatic works of Bertolt Brecht are presented in the most comprehensive and authoritative editions of Brecht's plays in the English language.

Volume One of Brecht's Collected Plays contains Brecht's first performed stage works. Baal is inspired by Brecht's student life in Augsburg and follows the life of a young poet on the rocky road to inspiration; Drums in the Night was written in response to Brecht's experience as a medical orderly in the aftermath of the First World War; and In the Jungle of Cities, set in Chicago, covers the downfall of a family that has moved from the prairies to the jungle of the big city - award-winning in its day, it was described by a leading German daily as the play that 'has given our time a new tone, a new melody, a new vision'.

This volume also includes The Life of Edward II of England, a ballad-like adaptation of Marlowe's original, and five one-act plays The Beggar or the Dead Dog, Driving Out The Devil, Lux in Tenebris, The Catch and A Respectable Wedding in which the bourgeois proceedings take a hilarious turn for the unseemly.

The translators are Jean Benedetti, Eva Geiser and Ernest Borneman, Richard Gr nberger, Michael Hamburger, Gerhard Nellhaus, Peter Tegel and John Willett. The translations are ideal for both study and performance. The volume is accompanied by a full introduction and notes by the series editor John Willett and includes Brecht's own notes and relevant texts as well as all the important textual variants.
Bertolt Brecht (1898-1956) is acknowledged as one of the great dramatists and theatre practitioners of the twentieth century whose work has had a considerable influence on the theatre. His landmark plays include The Threepenny Opera, The Life of Galileo, and The Caucasian Chalk Circle.
Product Details ISBN: 9780413685704
ISBN-10: 0413685705
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date: April 1st, 2003
Pages: 480
Language: English
Series: World Classics