The Marvels (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Marvels Cover Image
$32.99
Currently not in store. Available to order. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Fans of The Invention of Hugo Cabret and Wonderstruck, will be excited to read Brian Selznick’s third companion title, The Marvels, but you do not need to have read the other two books to enjoy this one. The first 350+ pages are illustrated—mostly wordless – and follow five generations of actors at a London theatre from 1766 to 1900. The text story begins on page 390 when Joseph unexpectedly shows up at his estranged uncle’s house in London in the winter of 1990. Joseph’s uncle and his unusual house hold lots of secrets and mysteries that Joseph is determined unravel. As he learns more about the house and its inhabitants, Joseph starts to accept that all stories – real and imagined – are filled with marvels.

— From Holiday Picks 2015

Description


A breathtaking new voyage from Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick.

Two stand-alone stories--the first in nearly 400 pages of continuous pictures, the second in prose--create a beguiling narrative puzzle.

The journey begins at sea in 1766, with a boy named Billy Marvel. After surviving a shipwreck, he finds work in a London theatre. There, his family flourishes for generations as brilliant actors until 1900, when young Leontes Marvel is banished from the stage.

Nearly a century later, runaway Joseph Jervis seeks refuge with an uncle in London. Albert Nightingale's strange, beautiful house, with its mysterious portraits and ghostly presences, captivates Joseph and leads him on a search for clues about the house, his family, and the past.

A gripping adventure and an intriguing invitation to decipher how the two stories connect, The Marvels is a loving tribute to the power of story from an artist at the vanguard of creative innovation.

About the Author


Brian Selznick is the Caldecott Medal-winning creator of the New York Times bestsellers The Invention of Hugo Cabret, adapted into Martin Scorsese’s Oscar-winning Hugo, Wonderstruck, adapted into Todd Haynes's eponymous movie, and The Marvels. Among the celebrated picture books Selznick has illustrated are the Caldecott Honor Book The Dinosaurs of Waterhouse Hawkins by Barbara Kerley, and the Sibert Honor Book When Marian Sang by Pam Muñoz Ryan. His books appear in over 35 languages. He has also worked as a bookseller, a puppeteer, and a screenwriter. He divides his time between Brooklyn, New York and San Diego, California.

Praise For…


Praise for The Marvels:

New York Times Bestseller
New York Times Notable Children's Book
An Indie Bound #1 National Bestseller
Guardian Children's Book Prize Finalist
Publishers Weekly Best Book


* “Selznick continues his quest to shake up notions of illustrated novels, wordless storytelling, and the intersection of text and pictures in this newest volume . . . The novel as a whole is exactly the sort of theater that is so lovingly described within.” -- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

* “Caldecott Medalist Selznick has been creating acclaimed illustrated novels for years now, and his latest takes his groundbreaking narrative format to new heights . . . [this] warm, affecting family tale is bittersweet, astonishing, and truly marvelous.” -- Booklist, starred review

* “. . . epic theater celebrating mysteries of the heart and spirit.” -- Kirkus, starred review

* “[A] powerful story about creating lasting art and finding family in unexpected places.” -- Publishers Weekly, starred review

* “Memorable, momentous.” -- School Library Journal, starred review
Product Details
ISBN: 9780545448680
ISBN-10: 0545448689
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: September 15th, 2015
Pages: 672
Language: English