Ada Twist, Scientist (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Ada Twist, Scientist Cover Image
By Andrea Beaty, David Roberts (Illustrator)
$17.95
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jul 15 4:15am
(P36)

Staff Reviews


Fans of Iggy Peck, Architect and Rosie Revere, Engineer will be delighted at this third installment, Ada Twist, Scientist from author Andrea Beaty and illustrator David Roberts. Super-fans might even recognize Ada as she, Rosie, and Iggy are all classmates and each appears in the other’s book. Ada is curious. She’s an observer. And she wants to know “why?” She also wants to know “what, how, and when?” Her family encourages her investigations until one experiment goes too far. Nevertheless, Ada’s a thinker and cannot be stopped, and her family realizes that they must help, “because that’s what you do // when your kid has a passion and heart that is true.” Read this book aloud to best appreciate the poetry, and look closely at class pictures to see if you can predict who might be featured in Beaty and Roberts’s next book . . .

~ Eight Cousins

— From Holiday Picks 2016

About the Author


Andrea Beaty is the author of the bestselling Questioneers series, among other children’s titles. She lives just outside Chicago.


David Roberts has illustrated many children’s books, including bestsellers Ada Twist, Scientist; Rosie Revere, Engineer; and Iggy Peck, Architect.

Praise For…


"Beaty delightfully advocates for girls in science in her now-trademark crisply rhyming text."

— Kirkus

"Use this book to jumpstart conversations about scientists, girl scientists, gender roles, forming hypotheses, giftedness and childhood genius, and individual creativity. Or just use it for laughs on a lazy school day afternoon."

— NY Journal of Books

"A winner for storytime reading and for young children interested in STEM activities."

— School Library Journal

"Young Ada Twist and her nonstop intellect might just encourage readers to blaze trails of their own."

— Booklist Online
Product Details
ISBN: 9781419721373
ISBN-10: 1419721372
Publisher: Harry N. Abrams
Publication Date: September 6th, 2016
Pages: 32
Language: English